Awards & Reviews

We've done quite well on the Awards front...  Here are the main ones. We must be doing SOMETHING right


       

 

AND National Recognition:

 HotelsCombined     


What our Guests say to the World

Check out our reviews on the independent review sites, below 

 


What our Guests say to Us

Here are some examples of what guests have written about us in our Guest Book.  We've looked very hard, but we can't find any bad ones!

A beautiful B&B. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. See you again. xx

— Irvin, John, Lia and Miriam, May 2019

Delightful B&B. Thank you for the excellent breakfasts & comfortable rooms & for your kind and cheerful manner.

— Pauline, May 2019

A friendly, elegant and comfortable B&B - lovely breakfasts. Excellent, calm, stay!

— Ann & Brian, May 2019

Thank you for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. Excellent breakfasts!

— Steve & Carol, April 2019

Thank you so much for an absolutely wonderful stay. So comfortable and well looked after

— Katy, April 2019

Very warm welcome, and such a beautiful place. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you.

— Alan, April 2019

Thanks for making our stay enjoyable, and your great advice about where to visit.

— Jane & Chris, April 2019

Beautiful B&B. I will come back with my wife.

— Hiroaki, April 2019

Delightful visit. Looking forward to the next one. Thank you.

— Steve, March 2019

A very pleasant stay.

— Roger, February 2019

Lovely snowy stay - very helpful, thank you.

— Owen & Charlotte, February 2019

Thank you for your very warm welcome and all the special individual little touches to make guests feel at home. It was a very refreshing pre-Christmas treat to be here. Many thanks. 

— Hazel and David, December 2018

Fantastic stay!! Great service and very friendly!!

— Richard & Lucia, December 2018

Beautiful layout in the room Really appreciate it. xxx x.  Very friendly xxx.

— Charlotte, Patricia & Richard, December 2018

A warm welcome by Jill & Rupert to their lovely home, thank you for having us!

— Michele & Stephen, November 2018

A wonderfully luxurious overnight stay

— John & Margaret, November 2018

A wonderfully luxurious overnight stay. Thank you.

— John & Margaret, November 2018

A comfortable home and a wonderful view. We will be back. Thank you!

— Gill & Bill, October 2018

Beautiful and very peaceful, despite the wind. Really accommodating - thank you!

— Lucy, October 2018

Really relaxing stay, with very welcoming warm hosts.

— Adrian, June & Victoria, September 2018

Wonderful place to stay & fabulous hosts. Lovely room to come back to after a busy day house-hunting. Thank you

— Geoff & Sue, September 2018

Very enjoyable visit, seeing Kynren - most amazing show we will always remember. 

— Ian & Julie, September 2018

Wonderful stay, lovely breakfast, Kynren was truly amazing.

— Russ & Barbara, September 2018

Annual visitors - everything is "spot-on", which is why we keep coming back! Excellent accommodation, food and welcome. We look forward to coming back next year.

— Christine & Richard, September 2018

Ten years since our first visit - we have probably changed, but the welcome and comfort here remains unsurpassed.

— Nick & Jean, August 2018

Fabulous place with lots of extra special touches.  Lovely owners too - we will be back :-) x

— Janis, David and Paula, August 2018

Thank you for a lovely stay.  Will definitely recommend you!!!

— Anne and Garry, August 2018

A perfect stay for the three of us, and the most comfortable, well-appointed and welcoming place I've ever stayed.

— Gail, August 2018

Thank you!

— Piers, August 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful room and breakfasts. The most comfortable B&B I've ever stayed in.

— Penny, August 2018

Perfect short break. wonderful. Thank you so much.

— Catherine and Jane, July 2018

Many thanks for your excellent hospitality and excellent breakfast

— Stephen, July 2018

Thank you for welcoming me into your beautiful home. Breakfast was delicious! Room was immaculate, and super comfy bed. Will be recommending to all.  :-)

— Rebecca, July 2018

Thank you for welcoming us to your beautiful home, with so many thoughtful touches - breakfasts much enjoyed.

— Liz & Edward, July 2018

Fabulous Room.
Fabulous Food.
Fabulous Hosts.

— Mike & Barbara, July 2018

We had a lovely stay at Dowfold House. Wonderful in every way. Thank you.

— David & Antoinette, July 2018

Bad pennies turn up again, notwithstanding close encounter of the oddest kind on the A68!! Everything fantastic as usual. Lovely to see you again.

— Alcia, John, James, Seren & Lucia, July 2018

Thank you for a most relaxing and enjoyable stay at your beautiful house. Perfect in every detail.

— Alan & Susan, June 2018

Lovely old house with very attentive hosts. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

— Barry & Cynthia, June 2018

Thank you so much for a very perfect stay.

— Roger, June 2018

Many thanks for a wonderful stay, and breakfast perfect as ever.

— Ian, June 2018

Thank you both: every tiny detail was perfect, including the massive and delicious breakfast. Thank you also for being so welcoming & friendly.

— Vicki, May 2018

Really lovely stay. Fabulous breakfasts. Many thanks - hope dining table recovers!

— Heather & Robin, May 2018

We really enjoyed our stay - beautiful gardens, yummy breakfasts, attention to detail. Thank you

— Judith & Grant, May 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us, and your wonderful hospitality! We really appreciated all the little touches - fabulous breakfasts, lovely room & delightful hosts.

— Anna & Michael, April 2018

A very pleasant stay and most enjoyable breakfast. Thank you.

— Sandra & Bob, April 2018

A very comfortable overnight stay! Thank you for [your] extended hospitality for us to change ready for a wedding.

— Steve & Jenny, April 2018

Excellent on all levels. Fab stay.

— D, March 2018

A surreal experience staying [as B&B guests] in our old house. We approve of what you've done to it!. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

— Wendy & Peter, March 2018

Lovely snowy mornings and near perfect breakfasts.  Thank you also for giving me a lift to the school [that I was visiting]. articularly kind of you. Thanks.

— Rob, January 2018

A wonderful stay at a lovely house and charming hosts.

— Hannah & Sally, December 2017

Jill & rupert, you are excellenthosts, everything is spotless and so welcoming. Lovely room and enjoyed our breakfast. Very peaceful and relaxing.  Thank you.

— Julie & Les, December 2017

Perfect (last-minute) break from busy lives. Peaceful surrundings, fabulous breakfast. Will recommend. Lounge with fire was delightful! Thanks

— Isabel & Max, November 2017

Lovely stay. Excellent breakfast. Thank you.

— Susan & Gary, November 2017

A real fire on such a cold night made our stay exceptional. Thank you!

— Carol & Margaret, November 2017

A truly friendly welcome, and an enjoyable stay in exceptional surroundings.

— Chris & Roma, November 2017

What a wonderful find, absolutely perfect. Will definitely come again.

— Barbara & Martin, November 2017

We are always made so welcome here. We love the homely touches that Jill & Rupert achieve

— Angela & Michael, November 2017

Wonderful attention to detail & fantastic hosts. Thank you!

— Michael & Brenda, November 2017

We enjoyed the comfort of Dowfold House, and appreciate the trouble you go to, to make it a great B&B.

— Catherine & Jane, October 2017

Wonderfully comfortable stay. Many thanks for the first class service!

— David & Jude, October 2017

Fantastic hosts as usual, Lovely surroundings - Back again - ASAP!

— Mark & Megan, October 2017

Another restful and very pleasant stay, our fourth. Will be back next autumn. Thank you.

— Jim, Judith & Paddy (the dog), October 2017

Beautiful & pleasant overnight stay. Would [have] loved to stay longer.Thank you so much.

— Ann & Philip, October 2017

Thank you for a lovely restful stay - made a real difference!

— Andy & Eileen, October 2017

It was as always a Wolsey, and the quality and peaceful ambience have been lovely. Thank you.

— Alan & Susan, September 2017

Thanks for your very kind hospitality and delightful surroundings.

— Phillip & Mary, September 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the North-East and at Dowfold - a delight.

— Graham & Jane, September 2017

A delight. Thank you for your warm welcome.

— Heather, September 2017

Excellent accommodation and food. Very friendly and helpful owners. Plenty to see and do in the area.

— Les & Mary, September 2017

Excellent. Great views from room.

— Sylvia & John, September 2017

Very welcoming hosts. Lovely room. Thank you.

— Sarah & Margaret, September 2017

A lovely stay & warm welcome. Lovely comfortable room.

— Mary & Alan, August 2017

Excellent hosts. Highly recommended. Very comfortable stay

— John & Shirley, August 2017

Wonderful! Thank you! x

— Juliet, August 2017

Absolutely delightful. A wonderful start to our "doggy" holiday - vey much appreciated. Thank you!

— Nick & Valerie, August 2017

Delightful accommodation and location. Excellent hosts. Faultless.

— Steve, August 2017

A very unexpected stay in a wonderful house. All was excellent. Thank you.

— Rosemary, August 2017

Thank for for a very restful stay. We did the dog walk without a dog! It was a lovely place to base ourselves for the wedding.

— Sue, Neil, Zoe & Jim, July 2017

Thank you for looking after us so well. You have thought of everything. We particularly liked the garden, the peace and quiet and the lovely interior

— Thomas & Pier, July 2017

Thank you for a magical time and for a delicious breakfast and comfy bed. You are very kind people. We have really enjoyed it. Thank you

— Sophie, Joe, Mo & Rob, July 2017

Thank you for your warm welcome. Lovely scones! What a beautiful house. Everything perfect.

— Richard & Pat, July 2017

Back again on our summer travels North & South! till as good as everin every way. Wooden plank instead of old tyre is great improvement, swing-wise.

— Alcia, John, James, Seren and Lucia, July 2017

We had a really lovely stay - thank you. Sorry we had to dash off and not say goodbye.

— David & Jo, June 2017

Thank you, Jill & Rupert. It has been fantastic staying here. We would certainly like to spend more time here if we visit England again.

— David, Chris & Margaret, June 2017

An absolutely excellent visit. Fabulous hosts.  Would highly recommend. Thank you.

— Mike, Jackie & Lucy, June 2017

Lovely views and great breakfast and tea!  Thank you so much.

— William & Anne, June 2017

A marvellous stay & a wonderful breakfast. Many thanks.

— Angela & Vic, June 2017

You have thought of everything to make your guests comfortable, well done!

— John & Marjory, June 2017

Thanks for a great stay & congrats on the high standards

— Gordon & Mary, June 2017

5 star + delightful personal attention!

— Geoff & Marjory, May 2017

Excellent stay - evoked wonderful memories as a past Crook Resident!

— Ailsa & Jeannette, May 2017

Everything absolutely delightful. Wonderful welcome, rooms and, of course, breakfast. 

— Sally and David, April 2017

Wonderfully friendly welcome!! Beautiful house in a picturesque setting... perfect!

— Geoff and Jan, April 2017

We were made to feel very welcome in your immaculately decorated home, and impressed with your great attention to detail.

— April and John, April 2017

Thank you for a very comfortable and relaxing 'Lodge' to rest and reflect on the North-South balance

— Dave and Tricia, March 2017

Only one night, but everything lovely - good food, beautiful rooms, courteous, helpful hosts.  Many Thanks

— John & Jill, February 2017

Perfect! Lovely visit; would definitely return

— Sam & Colin, February 2017

Very comfortable. Great breakfast. Lovely stay. Thank you

— Andrew, February 2017

A wonderful stay! Exceedingly homely. Thank you.

— Michael, January 2017

Thank you so much for a lovely stay. Great hospitality. Thank you again.

— Lisa & Paul, January 2017

Lovely stay - thank you.

— Luke, January 2017

Thank you. we had a fantastic stay, and great to show my family around Crook, and to catch up with the relatives. Have a great Christmas

— Peter, December 2016

Easy to find and lovely welcome.

— Steve, October 2016

Lovely welcome.

— June & Fay, October 2016

Thank you for a warm welcome and lovely breakfast,in delightful surroundings. We hope to return. 

— Penny, Peter & Daniel, October 2016

We booked for two nights, but stayed for four wonderful days. We would like to extend for much longer!

— Heidi and Bernd, September 2016

Great to return, comfy bed & wonderful breakfast.  Many thanks; will return ere long!!

— Jerry and Andy, September 2016

Very comfortable, with all one needs for a pleasant holiday.

— Gill and Margaret, September 2016

Temperature of 25ºc in mid-September-is there anything Dowfold House can't provide? Seriously, great attention to detail without being intrusive.  Thank you.

— Nick and Jean, September 2016

Excellent Accommodation.  welome 2nd to none. Breakfast lived up to its reputation. Thank you.

— Joan, September 2016

"We had a wonderful relaxing stay.  Great hosts.  Kynren [a historical son et lumiere fantasia nearby at Eleven Arches, Bishop Auckland] was awesome."

— Malcolm & Debra, June 2016

"Thank you for a very comfortable and welcoming stay. We will definitely return!"

— Liz & Ellie, September 2015

"A warm welcome and another lovely stay. 5* accommodation! Thank you"

— Ruth & Robyn, September 2015

"Excellent in every way - really enjoyed it. Many thanks. George & Whispa [dogs] loved it too xx."

— Barry & Sara, July 2015

"A lovely, relaxing couple of days in a very comfortable home.  Thank you"

— Lynn, August 2014

"Made to feel very welcome, even with 15 minutes from booking to arriving.  Lovely room, clean and bright.  Glad we came to stay. Thank you."

— Ceri & Peter, April 2014

"Lovely rooms; log fire in living room, nice cup of tea & home-made biscuits on arrival." 

— David & Frances, November 2013

“It was amazing! So nice & welcoming, everything was great!  :)  I loved it here.”

— Sabrina, July 2012

“Thanks for a super couple of days.  Wish it had been longer.”

— Evelyn, June 2012

“Beautiful.  Thank you.  Hope to have the opportunity to return to stay here & revisit Dad's area again.”

— Roger & Donna, May 2012

“Great place to stay. Welcoming, great food, Lovely views. Will come again”

— Barrie & Ann, May 2012

“Another lovely, comfortable and hospitable stay. Thank you again.”

— John & Nuala, May 2012

“Thank you for the wonderful hospitality. Fantastic home and so grateful to have been able to experience this in Crook. Thanks, Jill & Rupert.”

— Paul & Mairi, June 2011

“First-class, best ever B&B. Polite & obliging proprietors made us very welcome over all our stay. Will be back.”

— Ivor & Mary, March 2011

“Enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep. Excellent all round. x.”

— Rita, March 2011

"Thank you for making our first trip to the area very enjoyable, first class in every way. Hope you win competition - we will be back"

— Graham & Anne, August 2010

“Warm welcome & lovely surroundings”

— Chris & Joelle, June 2010

“Lovely comfortable house and warm welcome on a grey & grizzly day. Thank you”

— Rob, Nancy & Iain, May 2010

“Made very welcome and would love to visit again. Many thanks”

— Dot & Ian, March 2010